Login to NYSEC


Cold Weather, Heat Season

- 12:18 pm - November 23rd, 2016

Attention all building owners and tenants – it’s not only the holiday season, it’s also heating season. That means that by New York City law, from October 31 to May 31 – a period designated as “Heat Season” – the following home heating standards are in effect:


  • Between 10 PM and 6 AM, the inside temperature must be at least 55°F whenever the outside temperature falls below 40°F, and;
  • Between 6 AM and 10 PM, the inside temperature must be at least 68°F whenever the outdoor temperature falls below 55°F.

Please remember to adjust your thermostats accordingly. Failure to adhere to these requirements can result in stiff penalties for landlords: $250-$500 dollars per day for each initial heat violation, and $500-$1,000 per day for each subsequent violation at the same building during the same and/or the next calendar year from the initial violation.

To find out more about landlord heating requirements, please visit the Official Website of the City of New York.